Health Care

Exit polls predict BJP sweep in state elections

Exit polls predict BJP sweep in state elections

Exit polls results announced on Thursday by TV networks predict the BJP is set to win four of the five states, except Punjab, where the Congress party and the Aam Aadmi Party are likely to vie for power.

The assembly elections in UP saw a tough fight between the three giants - Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Samajwadi Party (SP) and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). Sixty seats are needed for simple majority in Punjab Assembly.

Of the 60 Assembly berths in Manipur, the India Today-Axis predicted Congress government with the party getting between and BJP managing 16-22 seats. With an overall voting percentage of 61 per cent across its seven phases for the 403 assembly seats, slightly higher than the 59.5 per cent registered in the 2012 assembly elections, the last phase saw heavy balloting in all the 40 seats spread across seven districts in the Purvanchal region. The ruling Akali-BJP combine, meanwhile, is trying to gain a third consecutive term in face of opposition claims of corruption and anti-incumbency.

They have predicted victory for BJP in Uttarakhand, but the saffron party, though likely to lead the table in Goa, was projected to fall short of a majority in the tiny coastal state. It is easy to say that the party which manages to clinch maximum seats from this belt will form a government.

India News-MRC exit poll projected 38 seats for the BJP, 30 for the Congress, 2 for others. On the other hand, India TV-Cvoter predicts a hung assembly, with BJP and the Alliance emerging in the top two spots respectively, but with not too big a difference between them.

Sleep Expert Explains How To Beat Daylight Saving Time To Punch
Arizona , Hawaii , American Samoa , Guam , Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands don't observe Daylight Saving Time . The second Sunday of March is designated as the start of Daylight Saving Time by the Energy Policy Act.

The reproduction of the story/photograph in any form will be liable for legal action.

Counting will take place in all the five states on 11 March. In other states, pollsters were less in agreement, a compilation of exit polls shows. It projects the SP-Congress combine will win between 135 and 147 seats, with the BSP grabbing between 81 and 93 seats.

IndiaToday-Axis predicted 18-22 seats for the BJP and 9-13 for the Congress. "Though there is no upward swing in the party's performance, BJP has definitely consolidated its national presence and has successfully replaced the Congress in national politics", said N. Bhaskara Roa, a Delhi-based political analyst.

Times Now-VMR poll forecast 190-210 seats for the BJP in the UP Assembly, while India News-MRC gave it 185 and ABP-Lokniti CSDS 164-176 seats.